After you’ve been arrested and charged with a DUI/DWI, you may quickly feel like you’ve made a serious mistake that may jeopardize your personal and professional life. Although driving while intoxicated is dangerous, you don’t have to let a single mistake follow you for years to come. A conviction for DUI/DWI can result in penalties, including fines, possible jail time, and the suspension of your driver’s license. A criminal record from a DUI/DWI conviction can also negatively reflect upon you in housing, employment, or educational applications. However, our knowledgeable New Jersey DUI attorneys can fight to protect your rights and interests against these charges.
Facing a DUI/DWI charge can be an incredibly stressful experience. Let battle-tested criminal defense attorney at Camili & Capo, PA help you face your charges and bring some stability back to your life. Having previously spent several years serving as a New Jersey prosecutor, Krenar Camili and his law partner Joseph Capo bring an in-depth knowledge of how the state builds and prosecutes cases. With Camili & Capo, PA, you’ll have an important advantage of one of our DWI lawyers in Totowa, NJ who knows where to look for the weaknesses in the state’s case against you that can be used to pursue a reduction or dismissal of your charges or an acquittal at trial.
Get Free Advice From An Experienced DUI Lawyer. All You Have To Do Is Call (973) 834-8457 or Fill Out Our Free Case Evaluation Form.
Contact Camili & Capo, PA for a free initial case review if you’ve been stopped and arrested for DUI/DWI to learn more about your legal rights and options for defending yourself against your charges.
The penalties you may face for a conviction of a DWI in NJ will depend on your level of intoxication at the time of your offense and whether you have prior DUI/DWI convictions.
For a first time offense, if your blood alcohol concentration is between 0.08 percent and 0.10 percent, you may face a fine of $250 to $400, along with 12 to 48 hours in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, along with a potential jail term of up to 30 days and a driver’s license suspension of up to three months. If your BAC is 0.10 percent or higher, or if you are under the influence of controlled substances, the potential fine increases to $300 to $500 and the potential license suspension period increases to seven to one year.
Subsequent DUI/DWI convictions continue to increase the possible fines, time required in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, along with adding additional penalties such as community service requirements or the obligation to install ignition interlock devices, and imposing mandatory jail terms and periods of driver’s license suspension.
A criminal record from a DUI/DWI conviction can have other consequences on your life, including potentially the loss of your employment, along with future difficulties in securing housing, employment, financial, or educational opportunities because of a criminal record showing up in your background check.
With our knowledgeable New Jersey DUI attorneys in your corner, you may have options available to you to defend your rights, freedom, and future against a conviction. When you hire Camili & Capo, PA you can expect our battle-tested DWI lawyers in Totowa, NJ to pursue the best possible outcome in your case by:
Facing Charges For A DUI And Have Questions? We Can Help. Just Tell Us What Happened. Call (973) 834-8457 Or Fill Out Our Convenient Free Case Evaluation Form.
You don’t have to simply accept a conviction on your DUI/DWI charge. Get in touch with one of our New Jersey DUI attorneys with the confidence, skill, and willingness to go the distance in your defense.
An arrest and conviction for DUI/DWI in New Jersey can have serious consequences, including fines, jail time, and the loss of your driving privileges. You need knowledgeable legal representation to help you protect your rights and interests from DUI/DWI charges. Call or contact Camili & Capo, PA today for a free consultation to learn more about how our DWI lawyers in Totowa, NJ can help you fight for a more favorable result in your case.
In New Jersey, a person is presumed to have committed DUI/DWI when they have a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or more while operating a motor vehicle. Drivers under the age of 21 in New Jersey may not have any detectable alcohol in their system. In addition, drivers can be charged with DUI/DWI if they have any detectable narcotic, hallucinogenic, or habit-forming drugs in their system. Of course, a driver whose BAC is below the legal limit may still be arrested for DUI/DWI if they have consumed alcohol that has negatively impaired their ability to safely operate a motor vehicle.
While DUI/DWI roadblocks/checkpoints are technically legal, police must follow certain requirements in order for any DUI/DWI arrests to be lawful, including placing roadblocks in locations that are designed to serve public safety (i.e. in locations with high rates of DUI/DWI) and selecting vehicles to submit to investigation in a fair, objective manner, such as by pulling over every fourth vehicle that passes through the roadblock — officers may not intentionally select particular vehicles to pull over in the roadblock. If the legal requirements for a DUI/DWI roadblock were not followed, any stops and arrests from the roadblock may be deemed unconstitutional.
Schedule a Free Consultation
Meet your team