Assault-related offenses, including simple assault, aggravated assault, battery, or sexual assault, constitute serious crimes under New Jersey law. If you’ve been charged with assault, you may be facing the possibility of significant jail or prison time and fines. And the consequences of a conviction and criminal record can impact your personal and professional life for years after your conviction and after you’ve completed your sentence. Assault crimes are vigorously investigated and prosecuted in New Jersey. So If you have been arrested for and charged with assault in New Jersey, you need an aggressive Paterson assault charges lawyer who can handle whatever police and prosecutors may throw at you in your case.
At Camili & Capo, PA, attorneys Krenar Camili, Esq. and Joseph Capo, Esq. bring years of experience in New Jersey’s criminal justice system to help clients facing charges of assault or other crimes. As a former prosecutor, Krenar Camili knows how the state of New Jersey prepares criminal cases against defendants and can identify the potential weaknesses in the prosecution’s case against you to give you an important advantage in building an effective legal defense strategy.
Contact Camili & Capo, PA for a free initial case evaluation to discuss your legal rights and options if you are facing charges of assault and to learn more about how a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney can help you pursue the best possible outcome for your case.
In New Jersey, the penalties for an assault conviction depend on whether you have been charged with simple assault or aggravated assault. Simple assault, which includes attempting to cause or knowingly or purposely causing injury, negligently causing injury with a weapon, or putting another person in reasonable fear of imminent serious injury, is typically charged as a disorderly persons offense, which carries a potential sentence of up to six months in jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000.
Aggravated assault constitutes a more serious criminal offense. Aggravated assault is defined as:
Aggravated assault is charged, depending on the circumstances of the offense, as a fourth-degree crime, which carries a sentence of up to 18 months in prison, a third-degree crime, which carries a potential sentence of three to five years in prison, or a second-degree crime, which can result in a sentence of five to 10 years in prison.
When you are facing assault charges, your freedom and future are at stake. Turn to an experienced Paterson assault charges lawyer who’s taken some of the most complex criminal cases to trial and knows what it takes to advocate a jury to fight for a favorable verdict. Let Camili & Capo, PA handle all the aspects of your criminal defense, including:
Facing criminal charges may be one of the most critical events in your life. That’s why you need a battle-tested litigator who has the confidence and experience to fight for your rights and interests as long and as hard as it takes.
A conviction for assault can result in the imposition of serious criminal penalties, while the stigma of a criminal record can follow you for the rest of your life. Don’t leave your freedom and future to the mercy of the criminal justice system. Get an aggressive Paterson assault charges lawyer who will fight to protect your rights and interests. Contact Camili & Capo, PA today for a free consultation to learn more about what you can do to defend yourself against assault charges.
Not necessarily. Although prosecutors may be less likely to continue prosecuting an assault case if the victim is unwilling to testify, it is the prosecutor, not the victim, who decides whether your assault charges will go forward. The prosecution may decide to continue your case, even if the alleged victim doesn’t want to press charges against you, if you’ve been charged with a serious assault offense and the state has other evidence to prove your guilt, such as photographs or video, that it doesn’t need to rely heavily on the alleged victim’s testimony.
Yes. New Jersey’s assault statute does not require that a victim suffer injuries for the criminal offense to be charged. You can still be charged with assault if you allegedly committed acts that put another person in fear of imminent serious bodily injury, such as brandishing a weapon, charging or rushing at someone, or even throwing a punch that does not make contact with someone.
Schedule a Free Consultation
Meet your team