According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, approximately 89 workers suffered fatal occupational injuries each year during the period of 2011 through 2020. Nationwide, a total of 4,764 fatal work injuries occurred in 2020. Under the New Jersey workers’ compensation system, the families of workers who are killed by a work-related injury or illness may be entitled to receive certain financial benefits. The law firm of Camili & Capo, PA can help you obtain the NJ workers’ compensation dependent benefits that your family needs and deserves.
Our attorneys have years of experience advocating for the interests of injured workers and their families across New Jersey. If you are having difficulty securing dependent benefits from your loved one’s employer or its workers’ compensation insurer, our firm will aggressively pursue financial recovery and justice for you. We believe that you should not have to shoulder the financial consequences of the loss of your loved one’s financial contributions to your family.
If you and your family have lost a loved one due to a workplace accident or occupational illness, you may be entitled to recover certain financial benefits from the New Jersey workers’ compensation system. Reach out to a dependent benefits attorney in Passaic County, NJ from Camili & Capo, PA for a free initial case review to discuss what recovery your family may be entitled to.
At Camili & Capo, PA, our legal team can help your family pursue NJ workers’ compensation dependent benefits if you have lost a loved one due to a workplace accident or incident such as:
If a worker passes away due to a work-related injury or illness, the worker’s family may receive dependent benefits from the workers’ compensation system, regardless of whether the worker’s death from injury or illness occurs immediately or after a period of time.
First, the worker’s dependents may be entitled to receive financial payments. These payments total up to 70 percent of the worker’s average weekly wage at the time of their death, up to a statewide maximum cap set each year by the New Jersey Commissioner of Labor. The total payment is then divided among a worker’s surviving eligible dependents pursuant to an order issued by a judge of compensation, who will hold a hearing to determine the extent of each surviving family member’s dependency on the worker.
In addition to financial benefits, the worker’s family may also receive a contribution of up to $3,500 for funeral and burial expenses, payable to whichever party or parties paid those expenses (such as the worker’s estate or a surviving family member).
If you have lost a family member to a work-related injury or illness, the New Jersey workers’ compensation system can help provide you with financial benefits. A dependent benefits attorney in Passaic County, NJ with Camili & Capo, PA will fight to make sure that you receive the full compensation your family is entitled to by:
Get the legal representation you need to recover dependent benefits from the workers’ comp system after you have had a loved one pass away due to a work-related injury or illness. Contact Camili & Capo, PA today for a free, no-obligation consultation to learn more about what a NJ workers’ compensation dependent benefits lawyer from our firm can do to help you secure the financial recovery your family is entitled to.
New Jersey workers’ compensation law allows for dependent benefits to anyone who qualifies as the worker’s dependent at the time of their death. Spouses and minor children who live in the worker’s household are typically automatically considered dependents. Minor children may continue to receive dependent benefits until they turn 18, or until they turn 23 if they pursue higher education full-time; permanently physically or mentally disabled children may continue to receive benefits through adulthood. Other family members may qualify if they were financially dependent upon and/or lived in the worker’s household at the time of the worker’s death, including parents, grandparents, siblings, or nieces and nephews.
Under the statute of limitations for workers’ compensation claims in New Jersey, you typically have two years from the date of the workplace accident that led to your loved one’s death to file a claim with the state to recover dependent benefits. If you fail to file a timely formal workers’ comp claim, your family may lose the opportunity to receive the benefits you are entitled to under state law. For that reason, you should talk to a dependent benefits attorney in Passaic County, NJ with Camili & Capo, PA as soon as possible to preserve your family’s rights and options.
Schedule a Free Consultation
Meet your team