Most people’s Valentine’s Day celebrations include flowers, candy, or a date night out with their partners. For some, these celebrations may also include alcohol. If pulled over after a night of drinking, you may be charged and ultimately convicted with a DUI.
What Are The Potential Consequences Of A DUI In New Jersey?
If charged and convicted of a DUI in New Jersey, you could receive the following consequences:
- Legal fines between $300-$500
- IDRC requirement of between 12-48 hours
- Insurance surcharge of at least $1,000 each year for three years
- Up to 30 days in jail
It’s important to note that these consequences are for first-time offenders with a BAC of less than .10%. Other factors can lead to even worse consequences, including repeat offenders or a BAC of over .10%.
What To Do If You’re Pulled Over For A DUI This Valentine’s Day
Knowing what to do if you’re pulled over with suspicion of a DUI is important, as this can affect your charges. If you’re driving along and look up to notice the flashing red and blue lights, and you know that you have had a few drinks, there are a few things to keep in mind.
For one, try to stay calm. Pull over as soon as it’s safe to do so. Use your turn signal to indicate to the police officer that you plan on pulling off the road. Keep your hands on the steering wheel and roll down your window. Avoid fast movements and wait for the police officer to ask for your information before reaching for it.
Never get out of your vehicle unless the police officer requests that you do so. You also have a right to remain silent, which may be important. However, even though you don’t have to share certain information during a routine stop, it’s important to be respectful. Always provide your proof of driver’s license, registration, and insurance. Be sure to let them know why you’re reaching in your glovebox.
What To Do When Directed To Take A Test
If a police officer suspects that you have been drinking, they may request that you take a breathalyzer or field sobriety test. New Jersey does require drivers to agree to these tests if asked by a police officer. If you decline the test, it doesn’t remove the potential consequences that come with a DUI.
You can also be charged for refusing to take a test, which can lead to even more fines and legal consequences. If you have been drinking and the officer orders these tests, there is a chance that you’ll be charged with a DUI. At this point, it’s important to reach out to an experienced DUI lawyer to consider your options.
There may be options available that can help reduce your consequences or even have them dropped. A DUI in New Jersey can not only lead to potential jail time, but it can also be expensive. If you refuse a test or have prior DUI offenses, it may be even more important to reach out to a lawyer.
Contact An Experienced Little Falls DWI Defense Attorney About Your Drunk Driving Charges In New Jersey
Have you been charged with a DWI or DUI offense in New Jersey? A drunk driving conviction could leave you with a permanent record, and it could result in your driver’s license being suspended for a very long time. That is why it is imperative that you speak with a qualified DWI defense lawyer about your case. The lawyers at Camili & Capo, PA, Attorneys at Law represent clients charged with drunk driving, breath test refusal, and related offenses in Little Falls, Hackensack, Newark, New Brunswick, and throughout New Jersey. Call (973) 834-8457 or fill out our confidential online contact form to schedule a consultation about your case. We have an office located at 1 Lower Notch Road Little Falls, New Jersey 07424, in addition to offices located in Hackensack, Newark, and North Brunswick, NJ.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.